Pillage

First of all, I want to wish everyone Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year!

Oh, I might as well tell you- I probably already put too much of myself on this blog: I got accepted to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology! Anyone remember this post? I could not be more grateful and excited to move out and start a new chapter of… well… MY LIFE! Meanwhile, I want to spend as much time as possible with my friends and family before moving away next fall. That’s why I really appreciate this particular holiday season.

Today’s daily prompt is Pillage. For those of you who don’t know, the main difference between robbing and pillaging is that pillaging is done violently.

Don’t worry! I didn’t hurt anyone. My neighbor’s Christmas tree, however, is another matter. hahah…

I apologize that my promised daily posts became more of a monthly thing in the midst of college application season. However, now that I’m on holiday break, I can devote time to greeting this blog everyday. Have you missed me? I’ve missed you!

Back to the part where I robbed violently.

My neighbors are lovely people- other than that one rumor from years ago that the man is ex-mafia- but lovely people! Anyways, they get a real christmas tree every year and without fail by New Years, you’ll be able to find that tree lying by the curb (because they are decent folks that realize Christmas is over after December 26th).

Last year, as I was coming back home from a run, I noticed that the tree in their driveway was particularly lumpy. As I got closer, I realized that it was wrapped in twinkly lights! Pretty sure that the garbage collector was coming in a few hours, I started the task of taking the tree lights off. “I just want to see if they still work,” I told myself.

My Pinterest board at the moment was full of aesthetic holiday pins featuring twinkly lights and bokeh photography.

I quickly find out why the lights were thrown away.

That ish was so tangled on the tree that I was ripping limbs off left and right and showering needles over myself with every yank.

All the while I was aware of the really big dog staring at me from the window and the fact that this man was possibly ex-mafia and I probably looked really sketchy in their front yard.

When I finally got the lights off, I quickly nodded an apology toward the beat tree and then I ran away with the bundle of twinkly lights in my arms.

I half expected the lights to explode when I first plugged them in, but luckily they didn’t, so I strung them up in my bedroom and became one of those aforementioned scrubs who keeps Christmas decor on display from December till July.

Here they are this year (the green and yellow ones):

pillaged-lights

I often wonder if my neighbors ever walked outside that afternoon to find a really misshapen tree flung on the curb.

Happy Holidays!

Lisa

One thought on “Pillage

Leave a Reply

